APF bag second win in row


By A Staff Reporter,Kathmandu, Mar 25: Sita Rana Magar-inspired APF Club registered a second win in a row at Lalitpur Mayor Women’s Championship following its 15-run triumph over Sudur Paschim Province at TU Cricket Ground, Kirtipur on Friday.

Skipper Magar continued her stunning performance as APF moved to the summit of the league standings with four points from two matches. Sudur Paschim dropped down to third place with two points from 

two matches.

Batting first, Captain Magar produced a half-century as APF collected a medium score of 121 runs losing two wickets in the allocated 20 overs.

Magar cracked seven boundaries to chip in with 52 runs off 59 balls. Indu Barma hit five fences off 37 balls to collect 45 runs. Opener Jyoti Pandey contributed 13 runs.

Captain Magar was back-to-back declared the Player of the match for her 

captain’s knock.

Ishwori Bist took a single wicket for Sudur Paschim.

Chasing the target of 122 runs, Sudur Paschim managed to collect 106 runs losing six wickets in 20 overs.  

Kabita Kunwar shone with a half-century knock of 60-ball 51 that included three boundaries and two maximums. 

Kabita Joshi smashed two fours and one six in her 17-ball 26 contributions. Samjhana Khadka added 17 runs 

off 18 balls.

Suman Bist grabbed two wickets while Skipper Magar and Barma contributed one wicket apiece to restrict Sudurpaschim.

Koshi first victory

Koshi Province notched up a seven-wicket win over host Lalitpur Mayor’s XI to clinch its first victory at Mayor’s Cup.

The two points moved Koshi to the second spot. With two defeats in a row, Lalitpur Mayor’s XI dropped down to the bottom of the table.

Koshi eased to the 66-run victory target posted by Lalitpur in 12 overs losing three wickets.

Apsari Begam smashed the highest 29 runs off 32 balls with four boundaries in Koshi’s victory. Opener and skipper Rubina Chhetri hit 13 runs off 18 balls and Smirti Katuwal contributed nine runs off 14 balls.

Asmina Karmacharya grabbed two wickets and Kritika Marasini took one wicket for Lalitpur.

Batting first, Lalitpur struggled to collect 65 runs as it lost all the wickets in 12 overs.

A three-wicket haul from Nisha Shah and two wickets from Apsari Begam destroyed Lalitpur’s batting. Similarly, Sabnam Rai and Alisha Khadiya also dismissed one batter each of Lalitpur.  

Opener Laxmi Chaudhary scored the highest 32-ball 23 for the host. She hit three boundaries. Manisha Upadhayay remained not out with 8-ball 10.  

How did you feel after reading this news?

More from Author

Europe Angered Over Immigrants

Corruption Sapping Local Governments

Saraswati Pratikshya comes up with new novel

Acting President's Eid greetings